Mick Foley, Terry Funk to be honored at wrestling museum, hall of fame

Foley Funk

The wrestling museum will never be the same.

Mick Foley and Terry Funk are among the honorees at this year’s George Tragos/Lou Thesz Hall of Fame induction ceremony at the Dan Gable International Wrestling Institute and Museum in Waterloo, Iowa. Terry Funk will be inducted into the hall of fame on Saturday, July 10, along with Paul “Butcher” Vachon, and posthumously Warren Bockwinkel (so look for son Nick to appear), George Gordienko and Stanislaus Zbyszko. Mick Foley will receive the Frank Gotch Award for bringing positive attention to wrestling outside of the sport, former WWF wrestler and road agent Rene Goulet will accept the Lou Thesz Award for in-ring work, and the Jim Melby Award for excellence in wrestling journalism will somehow not go to any of us but to J. Michael Kenyon, former sports writer for the Seattle Post-Intelligencer.

If history repeats itself, the museum will host a World League Wrestling event at Young Arena in Waterloo, Iowa, starting about 7 p.m. Friday, July 9, and the induction ceremony will take place at 11 a.m. Saturday, July 10 (a press release is coming down the pike in the next couple of weeks, so more details will come later). And don’t forget, I live in Iowa, which means I’m turning this into a humongous party if any grandkids decide to show up! (P.S. I am a huge hypocrite because a) I haven’t made fun of Foley here yet, and b) I’m excited to possibly meet him.) -Eric

One Response to “Mick Foley, Terry Funk to be honored at wrestling museum, hall of fame”

  1. stevemhw 2010-02-25 at 5:50 pm #

    DAMN!!!! I just checked my class schedule and my last day before break is 7/16, the following Friday. I’ve been wanting to see the HOF for ages!

Leave a Reply